My first 5K

nivipa

Cathlete
Well, thanks to Cathe's challenge, I have signed up for my very first 5K! I am not a regular runner (I do DVDs almost exclusively), so I don't know too much of what to expect. For something as short as a 5K, should I "carbo load"? What kind of a breakfast should I eat, and when? Do you walk for a few minutes before the race starts to warm up? What should I wear, and what should I expect to see and experience there?

Thanks for any/all advice you have for a newbie!

Nicole

Hi, Nicole!
I've been doing 5ks and shorter races for the past 4 years, first as a speed walker (my very first race, a 2 mile walk, was one I just heard about 3 days prior, and I had no idea I'd be as fast as I was compared to others, in spite of some goofs, like taking my MP3 player and assuming the fast musíc I'd chosen would help, when it ended up being slower than my race pace, and slowing me down, especially when I tried to adjust it). That race lead to a 5k in which I won the walker's division, which started for me what has become a healthy addiction, and I've been winning or placing in races (walker division ,though sometimes getting age-group awards against runners in some races) ever since.

Here are some tips that may help you:

When is the race? Usually, 5k training programs have several weeks of prep if you aren't regularly running/walking at least close to that distance. (I had been walking 4-7 miles a day for 3-4 days a week before I entered that first race). Look up 5k training programs online ( www.runnersworld.com has some, for example) and see if they will work for you. Since you are not a regular runner (I'm not sure how much running that means you do?), don't plan to run the entire race. You will most likely need walk breaks. IMO, you should work up to doing a few run/walks at 5k distance (3.1 miles) before 'the big day,' to get used to the distance.

Some tips :