Dream Body Barre review(chatty style)

bethj

Cathlete
So I did the DB Barre workout today. First, a few cons:

1-no mirror cueing. However, you are facing the screen most of the workout so its no trouble to just follow their moves and ignore the right/left commands.
2-chaptering-it has 5 chapters that start every 10 minutes but have no relation whatsoever to the exercises.
3-Sadie, the instructor, talks too fast. However, the actual pace of the workout was good-not too frantic. If you turned off her voice and just watched video it would look fast paced but not too fast.

That said, there were a lot of things to like about this workout. I’m comparing it to TurboBarre, which is the only Barre workout I’ve done. So I’m not an expert in this area AT ALL. But I liked it better than TurboBarre.

The first 26 minutes you are holding 1-2# hand weights and/or a resistance band so your upper body is getting a lot of work. I had to rest several times even using 1# weights! And I do overhead presses with 15s. Just saying. It was Hard! There is a lot of upper/lower simultaneous moves going on which really gets the heart rate up. You start with side lunges into leg abduction(an STS exercise by the way) while lifting one arm overhead and keeping the other arm out in a static lateral raise. That’s your warmup, and it was good. You then go into plie squats, then on toes, then one leg on toe, then jack in and out (a low impact mod is shown). Your arms are working this entire time.
Next you go down to the floor into a plank, then dragon plank while doing pushups. Doing pushups in dragon pose was a new one for me. It really stretches your hip out while your working, which I liked. You do about 60? pushups. Then mountain climbers to get your heart rate up. Like its not up from doing 60 pushups already. I had to go shallow in the pushups and went anaerobic during the climbers. Killer.